Author Topic: New BayCruiser 23  (Read 29621 times)

Rod Shiers

New BayCruiser 23
« on: 20 Oct 2017, 17:51 »
Dear All

I've recently ordered my first trailer sailor, which I'm planning to keep near my home in the Peak District - it's in 'landlocked Derbyshire' but very central for trailing anywhere. I'm planning to explore the Estuaries and rivers I've never had time to sail in the past. I've been cruising for over 30 years both in England and the Med. Would any other 23 owners have any tips as to what equipment they have which they don't use, or wish they had bought first time round? Also the choice of potential tow vehicles seems enormous - again any experiences would be useful.

Many thanks

Rod Shiers

markbatey

Re: New BayCruiser 23
« Reply #1 on: 21 Oct 2017, 12:58 »
I'd be interested in the same thoughts - I'm about to pick up BC23 Golightly which Matt is selling to me. She'll be renamed though as he wants to keep the name, current favourite is Juno.

Pretty sure I'll be adding a fixed VHF, there's already a chartplotter and depth sounder. Not sure about an autotiller, which I love on my previous boat. I think I'll wait and see if I can manage without, but that depends on how stable she turns out to be with a tiller tamer device.

Camping stove and portapotti are going in as well.

What else will I need?

Mark

Graham W

• Global Moderator
  • Demigod
« Reply #2 on: 21 Oct 2017, 19:17 »
Way back in the previous century, I bought a secondhand 20' gaff-rigged Norfolk Gypsy that came with a diesel inboard and all sorts of electronics already installed.  The Autohelm tiller pilot that interfaced with the wind instruments was particularly helpful when solo, which was nearly all the time.  With the engine on slow ahead, I could set the tiller pilot to steer directly into the wind and it would reliably stay there, regardless of changes in wind direction.  Very useful when reefing, raising and dropping sail.