Author Topic: Beaching  (Read 3168 times)

markbatey

Beaching
« on: 05 Dec 2017, 17:33 »
Now it not exactly seaside weather at the moment, but I can't help thinking how cool it would be to sail up the coast from the Tyne, land on the beach at Cullercoats, nip out for an icecream, then sail off. I was talking to my seriously experienced yachty friend about this (the sort who properly knows what he's talking about, he's an examiner for Ocean Yachtmaster instructors, gulp...). He didn't fancy it at all, worried about grounding the outboard prop, getting stuck, scraping the bottom on rocks etc etc.

I know lots of you do this - but what's the routine? Do you drop an anchor off the stern? Paddle? Hope for the best?

I have a BC23 with a 6hp outboard and a pair of wellies. This is the North Sea after all.

charliea

Re: Beaching
« Reply #1 on: 05 Dec 2017, 20:46 »
Hi Mark

I'm not really experienced enough to give you an informed answer but I can tell you what we do, I'd be very interested to hear if others consider it sensible.

We sail as a family in a BRe and beach stops are large part of the appeal for my kids, so here's the drill:

We only consider a beach stop if it's really sheltered with minimal swell, my biggest worries are rocks and getting pushed broadside to the surf so I'm very cautious.

If we're planning to stop overnight I need an evening high tide , but if we're stopping for a swim and an ice cream an hour or so before low tide is ideal as it means we're not stuck for too long.

Assuming all the above I fill up the ballast and then motor slowly in, keeping a look out for rocks as best we can.

Assuming the beach is shelving nicely I drop the anchor 20 or 30 metres off shore, take down the sails and take up the centreboard and rudder.

We then pay the anchor out as I motor slowly in, looking for rocks all the way.