Author Topic: Bayraider 17 - Single-handed Rigging and Sailing  (Read 4250 times)

indy

Hi

I'm new to the forum and looking at the possibility of getting a Bayraider 17 here in New Zealand.

Having searched through the forum, I can't seem to find a clear answer to the question: can BR 17 be easily rigged single-handed? If so, how long does it take?

I'm fairly new to sailing, and would be doing a lot of day sailing on my own. I've considered factors like safety, easy of use, weight of the boat, trailering, etc., and BR 17 seems to check a lot of the boxes.

I would really appreciate your thoughts and feedback on whether BR 17 can be rigged and sailed single-handed easily.

Thanks

IanCollinson

Re: Bayraider 17 - Single-handed Rigging and Sailing
« Reply #1 on: 20 Dec 2017, 11:20 »
Hi Indy. I am supposed to be helped with the rigging by my two boys, but that never happens and I have to do all the rigging myself. Absolutely no problem. I normally set everything up on the trailer with the main harbour furled before launching. From what I have read on the forum the harbour furling is heavier and more awkward with the BR20 and people I think use a topping lift to keep the sail secured but the BR17 is much lighter and there is no need for that. If you have a spinnaker halyard that is ideal for securing the sail. it would be more difficult without.
Launching is cetainly easier with someone else to hold the boat when it comes off the trailer, especially if there is a decent wind, but I have managed OK by myself several times.
Setting the sails once launched again is easier with someone tending the tiller but the boat stays well into wind with the mizzen set and pulled right in. She will stay head to wind while you release the harbour furl and do everything else until you unfurl the jib when she will come straight round and you are sailing.