Author Topic: Alternatives to Varnish for Masts and Spars  (Read 4168 times)

Matthew P

Alternatives to Varnish for Masts and Spars
« on: 16 Feb 2020, 19:46 »
5 years after I applied International Woodskin to Gladys's spars it's time to refinish them.  Woodskin has been OK but not great - not robust enough and too orange for my tastes. 

I'm a manufacturing engineer. I like to work hard at being idle and don't worry too much about aesthetics, so my objectives are:

a) robust enough not to need re-coating for as long as possible (except repairing inevitable knocks)
b) minimum number of initial applications.  2 or 3 for preference, assuming bare wood to start with.
c) not a supper-glossy yachty finish - but I'd prefer to avoid extreme orange or dark  finishes.

These criteria rule out Cetol (too soft), Deks Olje (frequent re-finishing), International Woodcoat (orange colour and not hard wearing enough).

Tim recommends a quality varnish tinned to 25% for 1st coat and progressively enriched to 100% for the penultimate with a 25% dilution to finish  (see https://www.swallowyachtsassociation.org/smf/index.php/topic,1790.0.html ). So far this looks favorite but before I start exercising my limited brush-man-ship on 5 expensive coats, has anyone experience of using 2-pack varnishes?  Or maybe an epoxy 1st coat for robustness and then varnish for UV protection to follow?

Matthew
Gladys BR20

"Hilda", CLC Northeast[er], home build, epoxy ply, balanced lug
Previously "Tarika", BR17, yard built, epoxy-ply, gunter rigged
and "Gladys" BR20, GRP, gunter

LuMi

Re: Alternatives to Varnish for Masts and Spars
« Reply #1 on: 17 Feb 2020, 08:53 »
Hallo Matthew,
Holz braucht Luft zum atmen.