Author Topic: Swallow Yachts Association on Facebook  (Read 46204 times)

Rob Johnstone

Re: Swallow Yachts Association on Facebook
« Reply #30 on: 23 Jul 2020, 17:15 »
About 20 years ago (no, it's nearer 30) I was an active hang glider pilot. I recently found the British Hang gliding FB group. I asked to join, was vetted ( I assume by the moderator (some guys still remembered me - gosh) granted posting rights. So far, I've not noticed any spam or Russian ladies, nor has any contributor been "flamed" so I assume the vetting process works well. The postings have varied between videos of exploits aloft, pleas for help on flying the things, technical discussion about various gliders and (as pilots were grounded during lockdown) some interesting period photographs and a long discussion about how much science there is and was applied to the design of HGs.

Any Swallow FB group would be a closed group (one would hope) that any one could find via search and view. But only members of the group would post.  Yes, the postings would be ephemeral, but I suspect users would see and hear interesting exploits of daring do's in and of Swallow Yachts. Yes, it might make us the stealth marketing department  for Swallow Yachts - is that such a bad thing?

It seems that we have a willing volunteer to at least start the thing off (albeit asking for some assistance) but, as I said in an earlier post Bring it on - let's see how it works.
Rob J
Matt Newland designed but self built 15ft one off - "Lockdown". Ex BC23 #10 "Vagabond" and BC 23 # 54 "Riff Raff"

Jonathan Stuart

• Administrator
« Reply #31 on: 24 Jul 2020, 11:20 »
I have created the Facebook group, here's the link:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/swallowyachtsassociation

Julian has agreed to be an admin / moderator.

All member requests and post must be approved. The group's description and rules set out, among other things, that posts must augment / support this website & forum.