Author Topic: Hello! Advice needed BrExp or BC23  (Read 3592 times)

PYoung

Hello! Advice needed BrExp or BC23
« on: 12 Nov 2020, 14:48 »
Let me take this opportunity to say hello to all the members of this community. I am new to the world of Swallow boating, so I’m afraid I will be leaching more than I will be contributing until I have the experience to offer something worthwhile, so please excuse me.

I am in the process of deciding between the BR expedition or the BC 23. We are a family of 5 (2 adults & 3kids 11,8 & 4) and we will be mainly doing leisurely coastal hopping and some estuary sailing. From time to time we may have an extra couple of people on board, but I would assume from the cockpit restrictions it would only be for motoring around on a nice flat day.

A cabin would be essential for us a place to relax and make basic meals etc, and for occasional overnighting when we are light.

I haven’t seen the boats in the flesh, but from seeing photos & videos the BC 23 seems to have higher sides in the cockpit, which for sailing with young ones might give a little for reassurance when heeled.

I have never trailer sailed before either, so launching and recovering is new to me also. Is the BC23 a beast to handle when launching?

Anyway, I would love to get opinions on which boat I should concentrate my efforts on.

Any advice would be fantastic.

Many thanks in advance

charliea

Re: Hello! Advice needed BrExp or BC23
« Reply #1 on: 13 Nov 2020, 08:27 »
Hi

I have a BRe and usually sail with my wife and two kids (10 and 12). A typical trip involves one or two nights aboard with a couple of week long trips every year. The kids sleep in the cuddy, my wife and I sleep in the cockpit, using boards and a cockpit tent. During the day the sprayhood provides really good shelter from the elements.