Author Topic: Trailer tyres  (Read 12416 times)

Colin Morley

Trailer tyres
« on: 30 Apr 2012, 21:49 »
I am not an expert on trailer tyres but thought I would share my experience with you so you have more information than I did.

Three weeks ago I was towing my BR on the M25 at 60 mph when a trailer tyre shredded. This did not cause a driving problem and I only noticed it when I looked in the side mirror.

Having a spare on the trailer I thought I would change it and soon be on my way. Unfortunately, The wheel brace for my car was too big for the trailer so I had to call out the AA. FIRST LESSON - have a wheel brace that will fit your trailer wheel nuts.

The AA duly put on the spare wheel and then asked me what was the torque for the wheel nuts. I did not have a clue. SECOND LESSON - the wheel nuts can be tightened to a torque of 65lb/ft.

The AA man said the problem the tyre burst was probably because it had been running too soft by the fact that the edges of the tyre where far more worn than the centre. He then asked my what pressure it should be inflated to. Again I did not have a clue. THIRD LESSON - the tyre pressure should be 36 PSI.

When I got home I was looking at the two wheels carefully and noticed they said the maximum weight was 375 kg. That freaked me out because the boat weighs about 450 Kg + gear + outboard is far more than 375. FOURTH LESSON - 375kg is for each tyre so the trailer wheels can carry 750 kg.

The last pieces of information is the 145 / 10 wheel and tyre that is fitted to my trailer has a load speed rating of 375kg at maximum 140 kilometers per hour (~80 miles/hr).
The trailer with a spare wheel fitted weighs approximatley 245kg so with the 450kg boat it should be within the 750kg limit.

I have learned most of this from CLH trailers who have been very helpful.

I hope this helps you if you are just getting ready to go trailing and sailing.
Colin
BR James Caird

Andy Dingle

Re: Trailer tyres
« Reply #1 on: 01 May 2012, 11:05 »