Author Topic: Rope splicing course.  (Read 1739 times)

PYoung

Rope splicing course.
« on: 17 Dec 2021, 16:58 »
Hi all.

I wanted to share my recent experience doing a splicing course with the guys at Premium Ropes.

Being new to sailing I have very little experience with rope technology and working with ropes, so I thought I would get some knowledge.

The course was online over 2 nights and was excellent. They sent me everything I needed to follow the webinar, Fids, D splicer, whipping twine, great scissors, Various bits of rope, HMPE & Polyester.

I came out of the course having learnt lots about different rope tech and its uses. I can confidently splice eyes and make really lovely HPME soft shackles now.

The guys at who run the course are very enthusiastic about rope and are very happy to answer questions live on the webinar too.

I would recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in this aspect of sailing, it was very interesting indeed. Here's a link for the next dates if anyone is interested.

https://www.premiumropes.com/online-workshop-splicing-modern-ropes

p.s. I have no affiliation with these guys, but I loved the course and thought I would share my findings.

Graham W

• Global Moderator
  • Demigod
Re: Rope splicing course.
« Reply #1 on: 17 Dec 2021, 20:47 »
Good recommendation!

Premium Ropes do a range of strings made from modern polymers that are often surprisingly cheap, considering that they ship from the Netherlands. 

Their D-Splicer is a great tool https://www.premiumropes.com/d-splicer-kit-a4.   Unlike a splicing needle, where you push through the splice, with the D-Splicer you pull.  I find that much easier, especially over long buries.  You could make your own version from a shaped wooden handle and a stainless welding rod, bent double in the middle.

They also do a good splicing book https://www.premiumropes.com/handbook-splicing-modern-ropes.