Author Topic: Favourite Sailing Books  (Read 6558 times)

Willie The Rut Lander

Favourite Sailing Books
« on: 28 Nov 2023, 21:18 »
What are your favourite sailing books? My fave semi-technical book is probably the The Blue Book of Sailing: 22 Keys To Sailing Mastery. I’ve sailed (probably badly) for over 50 years and, for me, this book distils the key criteria of why boats react to the forces exerted upon them and why certain designs suit specific waters (you can probably tell I'm not an engineer, unlike some other esteemed Forum contributors ;-) ). It also taught me how we, as skippers, can use an individual boat’s characteristics to our greatest advantage/benefit plus reinforcing the old adage of respect the sea and choosing the right boat for the conditions. It’s a little American-centric but still wonderful.
I have other ideas on novels etc., but happy to hear about any genre. Oh, I can’t help myself (I was going to stop there) - for adventure, I loved reading Iain Lawrence’s Wreckers novels to my young children in the early 2000s. There were wonderful descriptions of pirate's life on wild English (and other) coastlines a few hundred years ago; beware the dangers of a lee-shore and unwelcoming hosts!
BRe 001: Susannah (formerly Grace). Asymmetric, 6Hp, Jeckell's Rather Excellent Cockpit Tent

Graham W

• Global Moderator
  • Demigod
Re: Favourite Sailing Books
« Reply #1 on: 29 Nov 2023, 12:34 »
Below a photo of one of my book stacks with some of my favourites towards the top.

The RYA's 'Fishing Afloat' has one of the best techniques for trolling for big fish that I've ever come across, involving a sinker tied to the stern and a rubber band attaching the sinker to your fishing line.  When the fish is on, the rubber band snaps off the sinker with a twang and then it's just you, the line and the fish.

Glasspool's 'Open Boat Cruising' because that's how I got started on sailing small open boats.