Swallow Yachts Forum > Technical

Storm 15

(1/2) > >>

Gareth Curtis:
Hello all,

I finished building my storm 15 late last year and managed to get a few sails in and thouroughly enjoyed it. This year I am hoping to be a bit more adventurous and go more than a few 100 yards off the beach. Can anyone offer any advice on the following -

Sailing off a beach - this is where I do all my sailing and I must admit I feel a bit of a prat most of the time when leaving the beach as I'm not normally in total control, sails are flapping, the boat is all over the place. Would it be better to row out and set sail in open water, I haven't tried this but I find it difficult on land if there is a bit of wind? Is there a better way of sailing off a beach

Ballast - I'm a total novice (as you can tell) but is it me or is the storm 15 very "tippy" the slightest movement send the boat rocking. It's much better with 2 or more but most of the time it's just me. I was going to add some ballast in the way or sandbags or Water filled containers or possibly putting some lead in the centerboard??? or maybe a steel centerboard.

Reefing - How do you reef your storm 15, do you go back to shore and do it on land, I would imagine if the wind picks up it will be very difficult to reef the sail at sea?? My mast can be turned (I rounded it off a little to much;-) do you think I could furl the mainsail around the mast? I have got a gunter rig.

Anchor - I found the dingy cruising association dingycruising.org.uk and I am thinking of a few trips out with them, they have an excellent saftey list and an anchor is on that list, plus I fancy a bit of fishing!! The question is where do I attach the boat end of the anchor warp? around the mast?? Should I attach some sort of fitting to the kingplank?? should there be some sort of fairlead on the bow somewhere? If you have any pictures that would be great.