Swallow Yachts Forum > Technical

Storm 15

<< < (2/2)

Gareth Curtis:

--- Quote from: gerald turner on 16 Apr 2011, 21:29 ---Well so many questions most of which have been covered,
Regards to thhe Dinghy Cruising Club is YES ,join them they are very helpfull and friendly, if you are close to the South coast they regulary hold day sails from Chichester harbour and the Solent , the other 3 regeions don't meet so often but do Join us!

--- End quote ---

Thanks for the invite, I'm in deapest darkest west Wales, One day I might sail around to you but I'm not ready for that yet!!!

There are 2 events that I know of near to me, one in Llyn Clywedog in May on the 6th and one in Milford Haven on July 23rd. Hopefully they won't mind a complete novice and I can get lots of experience at the same time. I'm hopefully going to Norfolk in the summer and if I can convince the wife I may take the boat.

Thanks
Gareth

Paul Cross:
Gareth

You are indeed correct about the harbour furl. My comments were about not wrapping the sail around the mast as a method of reefing. It takes a bit of practice, but furling the sail like this is useful. I only have one pic of IONA witha harbour furl.....it was an early attempt and looks very messy.
We find that the best way is to:
1. slacken the outhaul
2. Disconect the mainsheet (we rig with a snap hook on the sprit for this reason)
3. Take the sprit off the mast at the gooseneck (in our case the twisted salty rope/noose thingy)
4. Invert the sprit, mast end up, until it is parallel with the mast.
5. Roll the sail onto the sprit until you reach the nast.
6. Secure the whole thing to the mast. (we use 3 or 4, 6 inch, sail tie bungee loops)

This can be done whilst slowly motoring upwind or at anchor. I did it once after picking up a mooring to sit out a nasty squall off Largs. The boat pitched alarmingly and i learned that it was better to be quick than tidy.