Author Topic: Draining cockpit on a mooring  (Read 14341 times)

Graham W

• Global Moderator
  • Demigod
Draining cockpit on a mooring
« on: 25 Apr 2012, 10:49 »
A topical one, this.  I am new to permanent moorings, so wonder what is the best policy for draining large amounts of rain from the cockpit when my BR20 is on its pontoon.  Open the inspection hatch through to the engine well, or keep one of the cockpit sump self bailers open?
Graham
Gunter-rigged GRP BR20 #59 Turaco III

Peter Cockerton

Re: Draining cockpit on a mooring
« Reply #1 on: 25 Apr 2012, 12:10 »
Graham

Just a thought, no practicle experience myself of leaving the boat in the water and not being able to use normal cover and straps. However i have had my cover modified to use as a mast up cover which i use as standard now when i leave the boat at Rutland. I use the mizzen mast in a crutch i made which uses the usual mizzen mast tab to elevate it to 12 inches or so, then attach other end of mizzen mast to strap on the main mast to form the cover ridge pole. This prevents water pooling and keeps the boat clean. With the normal under boat straps not being an option again you could modify an existing cover to use the fasteners on the side of the boat with elasticated cord. Might be worth considering as cleaning the bird muck up every time you want to sail will take hours. If you can't easily ridge pole the cover put a drain fixing and pipe to the outboard well in the area most likely to water pool.

Hopefully ideas usefull but again i have no experience of keeping my boat on the water for any lengthy periods. 

Peter
Bayraider 20 mk2
Larger jib set on bowsprit with AeroLuff spar
USA rig
Carbon Fibre main boom with sail stack pack
Epropulsion Spirit Plus Outboard

Graham W

• Global Moderator
  • Demigod
« Reply #2 on: 25 Apr 2012, 13:52 »