Author Topic: What size oars?  (Read 9105 times)

Over Exposed

What size oars?
« on: 01 Jan 2014, 17:24 »
Hello Everyone and happy New Year.  I am new to this discussion group ( I am in the process of buying a Used Bayraider 20).

My new boat doesn't have oars and I plan on rowing her from time to time. Any suggestions on size and should I get a shaped blade or straight one?

Thanks,
Don

Jonathan Stuart

• Administrator
Re: What size oars?
« Reply #1 on: 02 Jan 2014, 20:55 »
Hi Don,

Welcome to the forum. Here are links to a couple of posts about oar length that I am aware of that may help you:

http://www.swallowyachtsassociation.org/smf/index.php/topic,361.msg3603.html#msg3603
http://www.swallowyachtsassociation.org/smf/index.php/topic,696.msg4262.html#msg4262

Cheers,

Jonathan
Jonathan

Ex - BayCruiser 26 #11 "Bagpuss"
Ex - BayRaider Expedition #3 "Mallory"

Graham W

• Global Moderator
  • Demigod
« Reply #2 on: 02 Jan 2014, 23:40 »
The second of Jonathan's links raises the question - in what conditions are you going to be using the oars?  If they are for occasional rowing in calm water, then the standard pine 2.7 metre oars for the BR20 will do the job.  With their straight blades pointed forward, they stow perfectly into the slots either side of the BR centreboard case. I've used them against very strong winds on Lake Bala and they got me there in the end. I think these are the ones http://www.piplers.co.uk/plastimo-pine-oars-each PL10170 on the drop down menu. They will also need plastic collars to fit into the standard oarlocks.

If you're going to use them more frequently and in challenging conditions, then you may need something longer but then they don't stow nearly as well and get in the way underfoot. I think most of us use an outboard when the going gets tough, so for the majority, the standard oars are the best bet.

PS I went out and measured the standard oars a day later and found that they were 2.7m not 3.0m long.  Posting amended!
Graham