Author Topic: Decisions, decisions  (Read 7405 times)

cswaffield

Decisions, decisions
« on: 11 Mar 2014, 22:53 »
Hi. Im a brand new member to the forum. Having admired Swallow Boats for several years I feel this is the year I need to stop dreaming and act. Specifically how to decide between a BR17 or 20.
I have plenty of on water experience and I haven't yet read any complaints of the performance of either of these on the water!  My uncertainty is how hard they are to manouvere while on land - is the BR20 just too big for me to handle (single handed?).
Too help me decide are their any owners/ members who would be willing to let me 'test launch' their boat (and if its on the water a test sail would be great too!)? I know Matt and his team would let me do this,  but I live in the Scottish, not Welsh, Borders so would need at least a weekend. 
Are there any BR 20 owners in southern Scotland / northern England who are going to enjoy the spring weather sailing (this weekend?) who would be happy to to allow me to help them launch?
If you can help, please reply via email or txt. Thanks.
Chris Swaffield
cswaffield@hotmail.com
07721 624562

Peter Cockerton

Re: Decisions, decisions
« Reply #1 on: 04 Apr 2014, 09:56 »
Chris

Launch and recovery single handed of my GRP BR20 has not been a problem in my three years of experience with this boat. I add that my limited venue experience has always had the luxury of a good slip and car access.
Manually pushing the boat and trailer even on flat smooth ground single handed is not too difficult but add any surface lumps and bumps or gradients i would say forget it.